LINKEDIN BUSINESS ETIQUETTE

25 Jan

I cannot believe we are more than halfway into the first month of 2016. Time is truly flying by. As we are all on a mission trying to take over this new year with our clients, business plans and various agendas there is one thing we must keep in mind and that is ETIQUETTE. BUSINESS ETIQUETTE.

I have learned a lot over the past year both personally and professionally and even more on LinkedIn. And in 2016 I am going to start sharing more of it (hope you’re ready). Some business relationships worked and some did not. It’s Trial and Error but that’s life right? We win some and we loose some…

Moving into this amazing new year what we all must keep in mind is that “little” Golden Rule that we all learned when we were 5 years old. “Always Treat Others the Way you Want To Be Treated”.

I know that we are sitting behind a computer screen so sometimes we forget, however there is no excuse for poor manners and/or etiquette.

Today I would like to share a few rules I have when it comes to LinkedIn Business Etiquette.

1. Please and Thanks You’s. They go a long way. A very long way…

2. Email Etiquette. Copy and Paste is OK but please put my name on top so I know you care just a little bit AND because it makes me feel special (especially in the middle of a stressful day).

3. Research. Do your research! One of my biggest pet peeves is when someone tries to sell me something and they haven’t done their research. All you have to do is visit my LinkedIn profile or website. It takes two minutes to do and in the long run be beneficial for both parties involved. ie: You email me to help sell your makeup line. I have a makeup line! And you would know that if you just took two minutes of your time to read over my profile.

4. Spam. Inbox AND Email? Seriously! It’s just not needed. I hope it works with what you’re selling but it’s just not for me. If you’re going to take the time to send this information out at least make it personal and from a “real” person. We come to LinkedIn to meet and network with other like-minded professionals so please don’t ruin that for us.

5. Leaving LinkedIn. You have moved past the inbox messaging. The next step is email and now you’re on the phone. Manners is everything and professionalism is key to long lasting relationships. Is it ok to text? Sure but mile long texts? Just send an email. It is so much easier, especially when you are really trying to do some business together. When and if you are able to meet your new LinkedIn connection is person please dress appropriately. It just shows how serious you are and it is just common sense.

6. The Follow Up. Following up is key in every business. But how do we know when to do it? Depending on the circumstance I give it three to five days. If you are in the middle of a business deal and there is no follow up, what does that tell you? What I do is take notes and document everything so that it doesn’t become annoying to the person on the other end. Everyone is busy however if you are on my Instagram liking my pictures why can’t you answer my dam email? Just a question? It’s the little things that matter the most and these are just my rules I live by.

I apologize if this post was a little blunt. However, it is real. And if you would like to learn more about LinkedIn Etiquette or my new LinkedIn Business Coaching program please visit my website hereΒ and sign up today…

You know I love feedback so please leave your comments below…

Kelly

GOLDEN RULE

