THE HAPPY WORKAHOLIC (POST 2)

3 Feb

Health. Wealth. Happiness. Three goals we are all striving to achieve.

How many of us work more than 60+ hours a week? I think that is the norm these days no matter what industry you are in. How many of you drink 3 coffees in the morning and have breakfast at 3pm? Been there done that. It is so unhealthy but soooo common!

Having a busy schedule is one thing but having it on top of being sick is another. It’s seriously the worst feeling ever! Day dreaming of chicken soup and your warm bed…I know first-hand how stress can really do some damage on you. Mentally, physically and emotionally. It’s not a fun time as I’m sure I am not alone in this feeling.

We are now into the second month of 2016. I feel like January was just a month of prepping for what is to come. I’ve had so many meetings over the last few weeks and everyone I speak with agrees. Thank god I’m not alone!

Every year many of us set goals and I’m pretty sure a lot of us started them again Monday as it was February 1st. Am I right? Are you laughing? It is true…

One of MY biggest goals is to stay healthy throughout the entire year. Let’s be honest if you don’t have your health you don’t have much to offer. Being healthy is my number one. I can say I want to drop a few pounds (which I need too) but my health and doing it correctly is another. I want to be able to help others and smile every morning when I wake up (after my coffee). I won’t be able to do that if I don’t take care of myself first.

Every call I get from someone that I haven’t spoken to in a while will ask me the same two questions. Are you happy? How do you feel? I am so lucky to have those people in my life that actually care. We all know not everyone does. My advice…weed those people out of your life. Life is too short for the drama! You need to find your “tribe”. A “tribe” that will support you and always be there for you and in the same way you are for them.

As a “happy” workaholic I am going to make a commitment to myself to continue to make healthy decisions for 2016. I’m going to get off my computer and take short breaks. I’m going to go for walks in the middle of the day to get fresh air. I’m going to call or text a friend that I know needs a little cheering up. It’s little positive changes like this that I know will help me in the long run. YOU should make a short list.

Working a lot is what I choose to do. I always have enjoyed it, call me crazy! However, 2016 I’m doing it in a new way. A happy and healthy way! Everyone wants to make money but we have to focus on the positive and productive way of going about it. We have to focus on ourselves first!

I hope that I can shed some light on a topic that we have all been thinking about. And please know you are not alone when it comes to stress, skipping meals and drinking too much wine after a long shift!

We are all here to support each other so let’s do just that! Our health, wealth and happiness is up for the taking.

Speaking of taking… I would love it if you could take a moment and comment below on one goal you have for yourself. I will then know that you are reading “The Happy Workaholic” and we can begin this movement together.

Don’t forget sharing is caring. “The Happy Workaholic” loves feedback. Here on LinkedIn as well as my Instagram.

Wishing you all a wonderful Wednesday!

Kelly

hwh

