The beginning of my journey with Multiple Sclerosis…

19 Aug

Over the last few months I’ve been in and out of the hospital and medical appointments trying to take care of health issues. This has honestly become a job!
Yesterday afternoon I went to my Pre-Op appointment for a surgery I have on Tuesday. Never did I imagine that the conversation would start “I’m so sorry to be the one to tell you this but we found multiple lesions in your brain and you have MS.” I didn’t cry. I just went numb. Like the world had stopped. I honestly think the shock took over me. A few hours later it hit me as I called family and friends.
I have hours of testing to be done and meds to be taken. But first is a surgery and six weeks recovery. One thing at a time!
I was going to keep this private but after researching all the stages of Multiple Sclerosis I changed my mind.
I’m scared shitless and the tears won’t stop. I have no idea what is ahead of me. I don’t know what challenges I will have to conquer and overcome. All I know is that I’m going to take this disease and fight like hell and fight like I never have before!
I keep telling myself it could be worse and I am so grateful for the doctors that have listened to me. I’m proud of myself for screaming and yelling at doctors that wouldn’t listen to me. I’m thankful for the medical teams that truly have cared throughout the past few months and of course the support of family and friends. I could never ever do this alone. I just wouldn’t make it!
I’m writing this because I want to know more. Besides my doctors and info online I want to talk to others that have MS. I want to know as much as possible. I’ve never felt so uncomfortable. I’ve never been so scared and nervous but numb.
I don’t like that something is wrong with my brain and so angry that I can’t fix it!
I’m scared but will fight. No matter what it takes.
Please message me if you have any info about MS that you would like to share with me. I want to know as much as possible as this journey has just begun.
Keeping my head up…

ms

